Diamond Guide

For generations, diamonds have been bought to signify love, significant accomplishments, or milestones in someone's life. Unlike when you buy clothing, electronics, the experts at Schnack's created this in depth look at the 4Cs of diamonds. The more you know about diamond jewelry, the more confident you will feel when making your diamond jewelry choices. 


The shape of the diamond is often confused with the cut. There are a variety of diamond shapes; choose the shape that you like based on your style and you cannot go wrong. 

 Diamond Guide


At Schnack's our diamond buyers look at the cut of the diamond first. Cut of the diamond refers to the proportions and finsih which determines its brilliance or sparkle. Each shipe will be cut differently, which will affect the way the diamond reflects the light. Before a diamond is cut, the location of internal characteristics, the naturl colorations, and the original shape of the rough stone are studied extensively. The stone facets are then mapped out and cut in a way that maximized size, shape, and clarity. For optimal light perormance, you will want the diamond that is cut neither too shallow or too deep. When a diamond is cut too shallow or too deep, the light being reflected on the facets will be lost out the botom or sides of the diamond. 

Diamond Cuts


Diamonds are graded based on the amount of color they do or do not possess. The scale runs from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow). An absolutely colorless diamond is rare and therefore very valuable.

Diamond Color Scale


Each diamond is subject to having their own natural characteristics and is distinguised by such. Similarly just as a person would be noted for her blue eyes or his brown hair. These natural characteristics are referred to as a diamond's clarity and can be present on the surface (blemishes) or within the stone (inclusions). The clarity is judged by the number and types of these characteristics and is designated using a scale that runs from FL, defined as flawless to I3, defined as inclusions visible with the naked eye. Like an absolutely colorless diamond is rare, so is a flawless diamond. 


FL Diamonds
Flawless: No internal or external flaws.

IF Diamonds
Internally Flawless: No internal flaws.

VVS1, VVS2 Diamonds
Very, Very Slightly included: Very difficult to see inclusions with 10x magnification.

VS1, VS2 Diamonds
Very Slightly Included: Inclusions are visible under 10x magnification to a skilled grader.

SI1, SI2 Diamonds
Slightly Included: Inclusions are visible under 10x magnification and may be visible with the unaided eye.

I1, I2, I3 Diamonds
Included: Inclusions are visible with the unaided eye.

Carat Weight

The unit of measure used for the weight of a diamond is the carat. As a matter of reference, a carat is equivalent to .2 grams or .007 of an ounce. Carat weight can also be divided further by using points. There are 100 points in one carat. So a 1/4 (.25) carat stone can also be expressed as 25 points and mean exactly the same thing. When comparing two diamonds, please note that just because one is twice the carat weight of the other does not mean that it will appear to be twice the size.

We hope that after reading baout the 4 C's of diamonds that you feel more confident to start your diamond buying journey! Our experts at Schnack's prides themselves on bringing you not oldy the knowledge of the qualities of diamonds, but finding you the best diamonds for your needs at the best prices quickly and easily. Remember that we are here to help you along the way! Contact us to start you diamond buying journey today!

Please feel free to contact us!

We have jewelry professionals ready to help you.

Contact Us Appointment